I’ve had a pineapple in my fridge for ages. I had intended to put it into Sweet & Sour but, for reasons lost in the past, didn’t. So it’s been sitting in my fridge for a fair few weeks. I think it’s safe to say it’s ripe. Possibly too ripe.

Now, the usual idea would be to marinade it in alcohol and keep for a few months to snack on at a later date, but today I’m impatient so I decided to bake it instead.

Large, ripe pineapple
Caster sugar
½ Lime, juiced
Cognac
1 Split vanilla pod
Flaked almonds

Trim the skin from the pineapple, and cut into 1cm thick pieces.

Put the fruit in a baking dish big enough that the pieces half fill it, sprinkle on the almonds, sugar, lime juice, cognac and some water, and submerse the vanilla pod in the ­liquid.

Cover with foil and bake at 180°C /gas mark 4 until hot and tender.

Transfer into serving bowls and serve with vanilla ice cream, remembering to pour any leftover syrup over the lot of it. Don’t want to waste the cognac!

